During the Second American Civil War, rookie photojournalist Matty Roth gets himself embedded in the conflict's infamous no-man's-land: Manhattan Island aka the DMZ.

In the near future, America's worst nightmare has come true. With military adventurism overseas bogging down the Army and National Guard, the U.S. government mistakenly neglects the very real threat of anti-establishment militias scattered across the 50 states. Like a sleeping giant, Middle America rises up and violently pushes its way to the east coast, coming to a standstill at the line in the sand - Manhattan or, as the world now knows it, the DMZ.

I read this comic book called DMZ [by Brian Wood], which is about New York after kind of a Civil War. Could it happen? Every time the helicopters fly over my house I’m going, ‘Welcome to Baghdad!’ Fascinating concept.
— Robin Williams
DMZ is incredible. It is addictive and brutal, and a perfect antidote to the flag-waving Fox News broadcasts of the War on Terror. Wood and Burchielli have created something special, something that gets beyond the body counts and the headlines of setbacks and failures.
— Chicago Sun-Times
DMZ [is] the pre-eminent example of a growing fashion for comics and graphic novels about, or inspired by, the Iraq war.
— The Independent

DMZ was created by Brian Wood and artist Riccardo Burchielli, with additional work by JP Leon, Jeromy Cox, Danijel Zezelj, Nathan Fox, and others.  The series ran from 2005 to 2012 and is published by DC Comics/Vertigo. It is a multiple New York Times Bestselling series and has been published in over ten languages.  
It stands as one of the longest running Vertigo series to date, and one of its most critically-acclaimed.

It is currently being developed for television by David Heyman / Warner Brothers.

DMZ Book One: The Deluxe Edition (2014)
DMZ Book Two: The Deluxe Edition (2014)
DMZ Book Three: The Deluxe Edition (2014)
DMZ Book Four: The Deluxe Edition ( 2015)
DMZ Book Five: The Deluxe Edition (2015)
DMZ Book One (2016)
DMZ Book Two (2016)
DMZ Book Three (2017)
DMZ Book Four (2017)
DMZ Book Five (2017)


DMZ 1: On the Ground (2006)
DMZ 2: Body of a Journalist (2007)
DMZ 3: Public Works (2007)
DMZ 4: Friendly Fire (2008)
DMZ 5: The Hidden War (2008)
DMZ 6: Blood in the Game (2009)
DMZ 7: War Powers (2009)
DMZ 8: Hearts and Minds (2010)
DMZ 9: M.I.A. (2011)
DMZ 10: Collective Punishment (2011)
DMZ 11: Free States Rising (2012)
DMZ 12: The Five Nations of New York (2012)